2 years later, Atletico on the momentum of revival under the hands of Diego Simeone (less than half a year to the club) hit 3-0 defeat to fellow countryman Athletic Bilbao thanks to 2 goals from Radamel Falcao and 1 goal from Diego.

By 2018, the head coach still has the nickname El Cholo, still 3-0, the Spanish capital team overcame Marseille 3-0 to win the tournament for the third time.

6. Tottenham

Number of Championships: 2 (1972, 1984)

In 1972, Tottenham became the first team to win the tournament by overcoming another English team, Wolves 3-2 after two finals. 2 years later, they also entered two cup matches but lost to Feyenoord with a total of 4-2.

Tottenham won the UEFA Cup twice

By 1984, Tottenham returned to the UEFA Cup final. This time, luck smiled at them. In both matches, Spurs drew Anderlecht of Belgium 1-1. Extra time still undecided about winning or losing and after the penalty shootout 11m. Tottenham was the team that lifted the cup when Arnor Gudjohnsen, Eidur Gudjohnsen’s father failed to decide.

7. Chelsea

Number of Championships: 2 (2013, 2019)

Chelsea is the defending champion of the Europa League when it defeated another British representative Arsenal to 4-1 at the end of May. Towards the end of the 2018/19 season, the Blues played better and the point fell in the final of the second arena in Europe. Maurizio Sarri got his first title with Chelsea and possibly the last when the Italian coach said goodbye after just one season.

Before that, in 2013, Rafa Benitez was in the same situation. Inaugurated at Chelsea as temporary power, the Spaniard helped them win the Europa League with a 2-1 Benfica victory before leaving shortly thereafter.

8. Real Madrid

Number of Championships: 2 (1985, 1986)

Real Madrid is King of the Champions League with 13 championships. In Europe’s second-tier playground, they were also crowned twice in 1985, 1986. With the dominance in Spain, Real also won the UEFA Cup for two consecutive years.

Real Madrid is King of the Champions League with 13 championships

The golden generation of a series of legends such as Michel, Jose Camacho, Juanito, Emilio Butragueno, or Jorge Valdano helps Real dominate the finals. They overcame Videoton (Hungary) and Koln (Germany) with a total of 4-0 and 5-3 respectively after two cup matches.

Note: Borussia Monchengladbach (Germany), Feyenoord (Netherlands), IFK Goteborg (Sweden), Parma (Italy) and Porto (Portugal) have won the UEFA Cup/Europa League twice.