Europa League, whose former name was UEFA Cup, is a tournament held annually by UEFA for European clubs. These clubs have to have high achievements in the domestic league but cannot participate in the European Cup/Champions League. Below is a list of the teams that have won the UEFA Cup/Europa League most times.

1. Sevilla won the most Europa League titles

Number of Championships: 5 (2006, 2007, 2014, 2015, 2016)

Sevilla is the team that has won the UEFA Cup/Europa League many times. The first time the Spanish team won the UEFA Cup was in 2006 when they buried the 4-0 Middlesbrough phenomenon in the final under coach Juande Ramos.

A year later, their coaches and students became the first team to successfully defend the championship of the tournament. This time, the defeat of Sevilla is fellow countryman Espanyol after an 11m penalty shootout.

By 2014, the tournament was renamed the Europa League. Sevilla again won the championship and also after penalty kicks with defeating General Benfica. As a habit, Unai Emery’s army continued to surpass Dnipro 2-1 and Liverpool 3-2 in 2015 and 2016 for 3 consecutive years to be crowned. Up to now, Sevilla has won a total of 5 times the UEFA Cup/Europa League championship.

2. How many times did Liverpool win the UEFA Cup?

Number of championships: 3 (1973, 1976, 2001)

During its heyday in the 70s, Liverpool won 14 titles in all competitions. Among them, there were two in the UEFA Cup in 1973 and 1976.

Europa League 2001 was the time when Kevin Keegan, John Toshack, Emlyn Hughes, or Steve Heighway… reached extremely high form and beat M’gladbach (Germany) and Club Brugge (Belgium) respectively to take the throne. That was the time when the tournament still started the first leg, the second leg and The Kop won 3-2, 4-3 respectively.

By 2001, when the tournament was called the UEFA Cup, coach Gerard Houllier’s Liverpool had the third crown with a dramatic 5-4 victory over Alaves in extra time. They officially completed the memorable 3 after the FA Cup and League Cup.