If you’re a soccer lover, you’ve probably heard of the Europa League, right? But not everyone knows the full details of this tournament.

What is the Europa League?

The Europa League is an annual soccer tournament organized by the European Football Federation for European clubs that win high rankings in national championships.

History of the Europa League

The tournament was founded by three members: Ernst Thornmen (Swiss), Sir Stanley Rous (English) and Ottorino Barassi (Italian).

In the previous time, on 18/4/1955, Cup of inter-city fairs was established and organized with 10 European cities including 10 teams participating.

The first tournament lasted for 3 years from 1955 – 1958. More than 10 years later, this tournament was renamed UEFA Cup.

A lot of people ask what is the turning point of the Europa League, this is the perfect answer for them. From 1999 to 2000, the C2 cup was officially retired and merged with the C3 cup and remained the name of the UEFA cup.

Meanwhile, to win the right to attend the team must win the domestic cup. Then came the 2009-2010 season, the UEFA Cup had a club number of 48 teams. At that time, it was renamed UEFA Europa League and is still called by Vietnam the Cup C2.

Europa League format

Beginning in the 2018-2019 season, the Europa League format and conditions are changed as follows: Not only the teams eliminated in the third round are attending but all domestic champions lose in the qualifying round. The UEFA Champions League will also be moved to the UEFA Europa League.

32 đội bóng sẽ bốc thăm để thi đấu

The most regret of the tournament In the recent Premier League season, MU is the most unfortunate club when not ranked in the Top 4.

Therefore, this team must move to the cup C2 to play. Many fans cannot help but regret for MU. This is the answer to the most regretful question of the Europa League tournament in 2018-2019 season.